First Quarter 2017 Goals Update!

Ok, so it’s a bit late considering Q1 ended on March 31, but whatever! So I have goals for 2017! Did you know that? Yeah, I forgot about them too… But let’s see where we stand. *peeks tentatively at goals list*

2017 Goals

  1. Knit a pair of socks
  2. Cut my debt in half
  3. Create a large yarn bombing installation
  4. Learn how to do a proper cartwheel
  5. Watch a meteor shower
  6. Make a Youtube series
  7. Learn to sew
  8. Design a crochet line
  9. Build a piece of furniture/structure
  10. Pick strawberries and make preserves
  11. Throw a costume party
  12. Ride in a Hot Air Balloon

Hmmmmm….. Not doing great on that list, though there is one thing I get to cross off! Learn to sew! I’m no expert, but I did complete my first sewing project just last week, posted about it too. There’s also the fact that I’ve been actively working on an action plan for repaying my debt and I have the goal of getting rid of it within 18 months which means it should be roughly halved by the end of the year.

Luckily a lot of the goals are either low cost or, better still, no cost! The goals that do require money I’m going to have to take a hard look at and budget carefully for so that I’m not messing up my getting out of debt goal. Honestly though that’s really good practice because juggling doing fun things while also saving and not having to go into debt is a good skill-set to work on. My current plan is to Hot Air Balloon for my 32nd Birthday, but we’ll see if I have the finances for that (spoiler alert: it’s looking dicey so I might have to put it off a bit).

I didn’t get around to picking strawberries during strawberry season, so I’m not sure I’m going to be able to actually complete that particular goal, but I’ll give it a good shot or maybe I’ll try picking and preserving a different kind of fruit. That adventure will definitely get detailed over on my other blog along with the crochet series, Youtube series, and anything else craft or home improvement related.

Hmmm, perhaps I should kind of try to outline which goals I want to complete by when. It’s definitely a thought and I’ll see what I come up with, but I really need to keep in mind that organization and planning doesn’t get something done. It feels good at the time, but as they say “the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry”.

 

Leave a Reply

