Oh Thank God It’s Over

2016 is over and done and I was more than happy to see it go. It was a tough year for a great many people that I know; generally disappointing, heartbreaking and downright scary for some. A lot of the problems that came up in 2016 aren’t going to magically disappear in 2017 and there are some problems will likely get a bit worse *cough*Trump*cough*. I can’t help but feel personally that 2016 was a year of gross complacency in a great many people and as horrible a year as it was I honestly hope it was a wake up call to people who’d been too comfortable.

Personally, I want 2017 to be a year of discomfort for myself. I really do want to go through my list of goals at the end of the year and if not check off all of them, I’d like to have checked off most, which is why many of my goals haven’t changed much if at all. 2016 wasn’t a particularly productive year for me in many ways. I slipped down into personal complacency and comfort because it really is easier not to change.

Change is like a stone, but it’s no stone atop a hill that one nudge is going to build momentum and send it rolling down the hill. It’s Sisyphean in effort, starting at the base of a steep climb. Pushing up against that urge to return to where you started because even if changing would be better, more fulfilling, healthier, even more comfortable, it’s ultimately going to require work and you can’t ever guarantee that the results. And even when you get to the top and do achieve measurable change; the other side might have an incline that will help momentum but it will be a gentle slope compared to that first climb so even after changing that once, changing more or something else will still require a great deal of work if not the same amount as the first change.

This is as much a reminder to me as anyone else. The familiar is comfortable and even when it isn’t, it’s a familiar and manageable discomfort compared to the discomfort of the unknown. Change is hard and sometimes it doesn’t get us what we wanted, that doesn’t mean it isn’t worth the risk and that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t try.

Here’s to everyone trying their best in 2017!

The List(s)

Leave a Reply

