Adults Should Have Fun

While I was straightening up the library for closing the other day I came across a flyer/pamphlet from a local theater that was advertising a bunch of summer programming/theater camps.  Not surprisingly most of the pictured stuff was for kids and teens, which absolutely makes sense, they actually have free time over the summer.  Hell, teachers might not have “work” in the traditional sense over summer, but make no mistake they’re still busy working.  Many use the summer to up credentials, take necessary classes and certifications, and work on lesson plans for the next year.  But teachers weren’t my rant for the day, so back to my point.  There were two adults also pictured on the cover of the pamphlet and it made me wonder if they had an adult version of some of their programs exist and how it must be a much, much smaller number.  There are the obvious constraints of work and family expectations (because god forbid mommy have something for herself dammit!) you run into this other barrier which is the idea of adulthood.

We had a themed event at my library recently based around the board game Clue.  We showed the wonderful movie from the eighties with Tim Curry and had giant sized versions of the game for people to play and even a photo booth to take fun pictures with those accessories you hold up to yourself with sticks, like mustaches and monocles.  It was fun and silly and garnered a decent reaction from the children and teenagers who participated.  But not a single adult joined in.  This wasn’t age restricted, anyone was allowed in the movie room, anyone was allowed to play a game, but they just didn’t.  At one point I walked into the game room to relieve a coworker and there were children playing with our teen volunteers and their parents just sitting on the sidelines fiddling with their phones.

I’m not going to knock fiddling with phones when bored, I fiddle with my phone all the time, but that wasn’t necessary here. This could have been an opportunity for parents to have some fun playing with their kids, or have fun just playing in general and they weren’t.  I don’t know when it happens, because it happened to me too, but at some point it wasn’t okay to just play anymore.  As if there’s this idea of how adults are allowed to have fun and it can’t be like this.  As some point I start worrying about ridiculous constructs like public decorum more than enjoying myself.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t condone hurting people, endangering others, damaging property or even being an obnoxious twat because what you’re doing unnecessarily bothers others (like, don’t flash mob in libraries), but there are tons of times when I’ve had the urge to do something that wouldn’t have been any of those things (well, I might have annoyed someone, but more in the sense that they’d be thoroughly offended I wasn’t acting like an “adult”) and I didn’t because I was concerned with acting like an “adult”.  You know what?  Fuck that, adulthood is ridiculous. So ridiculous that I’m going to have an even bigger and more long-winded rant about it someday soon, but for today I’ll settle for pulling up a quote I recently decided to take to heart.

“Yeah, but the truth is we never really grow up.  We just masquerade as adults because that’s what we’re expected to do.” Teacher dicking around on a rolly-chair.

My point is I’m going to concentrate on having fun regardless of time or place and hang convention.  Also I’m contemplating a summer camp (read: planned list of activities for my sister and I) for adults, I’m hoping I can fit a tire swing in somewhere.

P.S. Holy Shit, Happy Birthday Me!  I turned Baskin Robins today!

giphy

Leave a Reply

