Baby steps

It’s been… weirdly calm. *freezes and waits for the sky to crash down*

But really after recent fuckery I thankfully have had a period of calm, especially this weekend which was full of slacking and wonderful predictability.  Things are not totally settled at the apartment because I’m still kind of cleaning up after the cave-in, but that’s mostly because I’m lazy and I didn’t want to be bothered.  I have no idea what I’m going to do about the mess that is my carpet, but I suppose there just isn’t much I can do about it other than let the leasing office know that the damage is their fault.

I may have taken the time to slack some, but I didn’t slack off entirely.  I made a cool new friend and finally had the opportunity to hang out with her to work on spinning together.  I have more details about the wonderful hanging out on my crafty blog, but for now I get to tick off the first goal on my 30for30 list: learn to hand-spin yarn!  And because she brought her wheel along I got to play around with a wheel.  The yarn I made, the dark brown part, was actually made on her wheel.  It’s definitely beginner yarn, very thick and thin, but she let me ply it with some of her practice yarn and the result looks pretty cool!  This is after I had a chance to set it, wash, rinse, and hang it out to dry.

  
I’m also going to tick off a second goal: learn to play an instrument.  True I’m not crazy good yet and I still made mistakes, but I’m at the point with my strumstick that I can play through an entire simple song without mistakes or looking at the music, hooray!  I suppose I’m at the point where video proof is becoming necessary so I’ll play something for you soon.

I won’t say I feel super accomplished lately or anything, because I honestly don’t and I still have a long way to go, but I’m not giving up yet.  Next week I’ll have a more interesting post about something other than my life, promise!

Leave a Reply

