And so we meet again…

Ah, 30 years old.

A small part of me feels like “FINALLY” because I’ve been gearing up for this for a while.

I’ve got to be honest though, it’s not some terrible adjustment, I don’t feel old (well, except around teens, but I think I felt old next to teens when I was 25 and even then it’s more like “Wow, I’m glad I’m not that young and stupid anymore”)  I do wish I’d had the opportunity to do more this past year and I feel like I’ve really let myself down in some ways, but at the same time I’m doing fairly well, I’m happy and healthy and that’s more than enough.  So I didn’t accomplish everything I set out to do, that doesn’t mean I can’t do those things!

Speaking of those things I was planning on doing, my sister and I had planned to celebrate my Birthday by having that hot air balloon ride I wanted.  We woke up at a ridiculous hour (4:40am) so we could get to the rendezvous point by 5:30am, because the balloon goes up in the morning.  We and the other passengers were bundled up in the van to truck out to Zephyrhills, where the launch site was.

While I was up waaay too early, I have to admit the field we went to was beautiful (undeveloped future development), though a bit windy which is a problem because you don’t want a lot of wind when you go ballooning.  So they do some tests to judged things and we hang around to see if the wind dies down.  Sure enough the flag in the distance goes quite a little after sunrise and we can finally start unpacking the balloon!

It’s a massive balloon designed to hold 10 people in total and almost everyone helps to get it out of the trailer.

It was really impressive to watch the team working together to set the basket up in really short order.  And they finish the putting the basket together just in time for the wind to capriciously decide it’s not a going to be a calm day.  This huge flag in the distance hasn’t stopped flapping once since they started putting the balloon together.  Ultimately it’s just not a good day for going up and so they have to cancel the flight.

My 30th year started with failure to launch!  It’s like a preview for the coming year! XD

But seriously, it was disappointing, but not the end of the world.  We’ll reschedule for another day and I still had fun by going to the Lowry Park Zoo and Mad Max later that night.

The Zoo was a bit of a questionable choice because it was cruelly hot on Sunday and we were both wiped out within a couple hours.  Also slightly sun-burned.  Mad Max: Fury Road was AWESOME though.  I don’t have a background with the movies so I don’t have an authenticity hang-ups, but at the same time I struggled to understand some of the references made throughout the movie.  The movie was and wasn’t what I was expecting at all and Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron were amazing in it.  Without giving away the movie I’d say it’s largely about the idea that a post-apocalyptic world has to be one way, this horrible existence of people constantly tearing each other down instead of people choosing to work together for the better of everyone.  You have examples of both.  Also, it has some really funny (to me) bits because it really commits to being over-the-top in the best ways.  EXPLODING CARS EVERYWHERE!

All in all, I had a really good time and even though I didn’t have the most auspicious start to the year I can work with what I’ve got.

Leave a Reply

