Just the usual…

So I was originally planning on posting this yesterday, but got caught up crocheting and watching youtube, but I consider this serendipitous because I was thinking of switching to attempting to post twice (maybe thrice on Saturdays) on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  That’s what I’m going with for now anyway.  This is going to seem like an abrupt segue, but it really does relate.

I have come to understand I have a peculiar mental block when it comes to progress.  I convince myself that if I complete a project of some kind of magnitude, usually a decently big goal for myself, I’ll have turned some kind of corner and magically snap into the kind of person I’m working towards.  I wouldn’t have phrased it like that, because I know, intellectually at least, progress doesn’t work like that.  Then I realized that on some level I believed that’s what would happen.  I convinced myself that once I had such and such done I would suddenly be filled with pride at getting something completed and be off to the races with a “complete-all-the-things!” attitude for everything.

  completeallthethings

I wasn’t giving credit to the daily struggle that comes with getting up and doing the day to day boring stuff that’s so important to getting everything else done.  I know it doesn’t feel this way for other people and it probably doesn’t have to work this way for me, but when I look around and my apartment’s a mess or I have a messy kitchen or piles of dirty clothes; I get really discouraged and feel overwhelmed like-I can’t handle being an adult on a day-to-day basis, how in the hell can I get any of my big goals accomplished?

That’s why I think my white board progress is going to be important (I know I didn’t post anything about my progress since I first mentioned it; let’s just say it was poor >.>) because it gives me small tangible steps to seeing that I’m accomplishing things.  It’s not that I haven’t made progress it just doesn’t feel like it’s enough to talk about, but any progress is progress and I should make it a point to acknowledge that.

Self-reflections aside I have made tangible progress!  I finished the blanket I was commissioned to do for a coworker and I have another two commissions lined up as well.  I finished up my shelves and finally unpacked all of my books.  I still have to arrange them (they don’t make any sense currently).  I had a really busy couple of weeks because my older sister and my nephew came to visit in the middle of the week and then one of my younger sisters visited for the weekend.  Then I got caught up in not doing anything, you know how it goes.  I also have a bit of progress on my 30before30 because I finally managed to find an affordable strumstick.  It was a second sale because it’s not a showroom perfect model so they were selling it at reduced cost.  There were some difficulties with delivery so they have to send it may way again (which means double the shipping costs for me, but whatever).  I’ve also joined a gym so I can get to work on weight training.  I have a consultation tomorrow in fact.  I also have to start training for the Color Run, I think I’m going to run in the Clearwater event.  I also have a ton of fabric to “Make a Rug” and I’m also finishing up two other projects “Intimate, Indispensable GIF” and “Stakeout”.

If you’re curious about my commissions and personal projects don’t forget to check out my other blog, I’ll include the whole story about how I got my fabric there on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

